It’s Officially Apple Pie Season!

Mercier Apple Orchards in Blueridge, Georgia

Mercier Apple Orchards in Blueridge, Georgia

Hi guys! Sara from Marketing here to tell you about my trip to the Mercier Orchards in Blueridge, Georgia. The lines were pretty crazy for the pick-your-own apple tours, so I settled on a bag of Jonagold Apples for my pie. Traditionally, apple pies are made with a less-sweet variety like a Granny Smith Apple, but in an effort to make a somewhat healthy pie, I picked a sweeter variety so that I could cut the sugar in half.

Now, I am a big Paula Deen fan and have been since I was a teenager when my mom first took me to eat at her restaurant in Savannah. I have all of her cookbooks and treasure her recipes almost as much I do my grandmothers. The following recipe is based on Paula Deen’s apple pie recipe, but modified to stay as local and organic as possible.

I hope yours tastes as good as mine did! Honestly, I’m not sure which was better, the apple pie or the hard cider with peach that I bought from the Mercier Orchards Hard Cider Tasting Room!

Ingredients

Dough and Filling:

  • Dough for a double crust 9-inch pie (homemade, frozen, or refrigerated)
  • 1/4 cup organic unbleached sugar (3/4 cup if you are using tart apples)
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose organic flour (for the super healthy try using whole wheat flour!)
  • 1 teaspoon ground fair trade cinnamon
  • Dash sea salt
  • 3 1/2 cups peeled apples
  • 1 (16-ounce) jar organic applesauce (I was lucky enough to have some canned by a friend who works at Georgia Organics!)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons organic butter, chopped into small pieces

Crunch Topping:

  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose organic flour
  • 1 tablespoon organic unbleached sugar
  • Dash sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon organic butter, at room temperature

Directions

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

Line a 9-inch pie pan with half of dough. Combine sugar, flour, cinnamon, and salt in a bowl. Stir in apples, applesauce, and lemon juice. Spoon apple mixture into pie pan and dot with butter. Cut remaining crust into strips; arrange in a lattice design (or get funky and use your favorite cookie cutter to make shapes – I used stars!) over top of pie. For crunch topping, combine flour, sugar, and salt in a bowl. Using a fork, cut in butter until mixture is crumbly. Sprinkle over top of crust. Bake for 10 minutes, then reduce heat to 350 degrees F and continue to bake for about 45 minutes, or until crust and topping are golden brown.

Obviously, apple pie is served best with vanilla ice cream! Enjoy!

Crunch Top Apple Pie

Crunch Top Apple Pie

Leave a Reply

